Orgullosa

21 Sep

Proud. That’s me today. Three days in a row that I didn’t get lost going to several different places all across a city of almost 400.000. Using the metro, the bus and walking. May not seem like much to some of you bigger cityfolk, but for me, who came here from little ol’ Shelbyville, where it takes to ten minutes to drive from one side of town to the other and there are no rotundas (roundabouts) and certainly no metro with two lines nor bus stops that have six different bus routes stop there, it is a really big deal!

I am enjoying this process, getting to know this city, poco a poco, little by little. As I was walking to the metro stop on Wednesday, I even met someone I knew–one of the teachers from my new school! We chatted for a minute and kissed each other on both cheeks as we said good-bye. Such a warm and welcoming place Spain is.

As many may already know, I took a huge risk coming here. I was offered a job as a Visiting Teacher and was going to be paid an adequate salary but, due to the economic conditions in Spain, the Ministerio de Educación de España canceled the program and offered us select few an alternate route to fulfill our dreams. It pays one-third the Visiting Teacher´s salary (which is more in tune with the regular Spaniard´s salary) and we work fewer hours. Needless to say, with a daughter in college, I need to supplement my income. I advertised to teach private English classes and have had good luck so far. A private academy contacted me, and I was hired to teach two nights a week for two and a half hours. That makes traveling all over the city unnecessary for those two nights!

I had my first private lesson in a home last night and was stunned at what is expected of these students in a high school English class! He was reading Catcher in the Rye! Discussing theme, style, and motif. Of course, why should I be surprised? This student has been studying English since he was eight! Eight years of a second language and our students are just beginning to study one.

So yes, I am proud. A job at an Academy. A few jobs lined up tutoring in homes. Not getting lost three days in a row. I am gonna make it here.

2 Responses to “Orgullosa”

  1. Laurie 21/09/2012 at 18:07 #

    You are going to make it. You are awesome. 🙂

  2. suscepit452b 27/09/2012 at 00:00 #

    Glad to see things better for you. Hopefully my message 5 min ago made it thru. Sixmil

Leave a Reply

