I Took a Ride…

27 Sep

On the metro today. And actually thought I might cheat the system. Not on purpose I tell you. It was all an accident. Too bad you can’t sightsee while you are underground!

You see, I went to a new part of town to get my Spanish Social Security Number because I have a second job at an Academy that requires me to get one. Easiest darn process ever! Didn’t even ask me for blood or anything! Anyways, on my way home, I wasn’t paying attention and got on the metro train going away from my house instead of towards my house. As soon as I realized this, I got off the subway, walked across the platform and got on the correct subway train heading the other way, without canceling my ticket. I didn’t think it would be big deal.

UNTIL…I got off the subway at my regularly scheduled stop and tried to cancel my ticket. Lo and behold, the machine said “Error, Will Robinson, Error!” in both castellano and euskera. I was stunned and didn’t know what to do, until it dawned on me what I had done – I “cheated” the system. I didn’t cancel my ticket at the other end before re-boarding the metro.

So I had to re-board the metro, take it seven stops down the line AGAIN (at least one stop past my original destination) and cancel my ticket and then board the metro a fourth time going in the correct direction so I could finally make it home. Trust me, I thought about jumping those canceladores (turnstiles) but I had almost ten dollars worth of travel on that ticket that I didn’t want to lose!

It was well worth it in the end, as a gentleman pulled out his guitar and sang a beautiful Spanish ballad through three metro stops on the way back.

One Response to “I Took a Ride…”

  1. bjconk01 27/09/2012 at 15:04 #

    Go Kelly!

Leave a Reply

