San Juan de Gaztelugatxe

20 Oct

Last Saturday, two friends and I rented a car here in Vizcaya and traveled around a bit. Our main destination was San Juan de Gaztelugatxe (gahs-tay-loo-gah-chay). (Don´t worry, it took me two weeks of heavy practice to learn how to pronounce it!) Those who told me about it or heard that I was going told me it was well worth the effort. Effort? Whatever did they mean? So I did some reading…http://www.verdenorte.com/san-juan-de-gaztelugatxe…so now I knew that at least 237 steps later I would reach the top the rock and see the capilla. Never did I think about the walk down the mountainside…..

Remember, where this picture is taken from is the TOP of another mountain that we climbed DOWN before scaling the steps to go UP to the capilla which is in the photo! And it was dirt going down, with a few fashioned steps from rocks and occasional timbers. Going down the dirt mountainside was easy. Coming back up was not.

There is not much to be said about San Juan de Gaztelugatxe except that it is absolutely beautiful. We were blessed with a most gorgeous day for weather and the views were amazing. A hermit lives atop the rock and it is believed that if you ring the church bell three times and make a wish, your wish will come true. I would definitely recommend visiting SJdeG for anyone coming to Vizcaya. It is a nice two hour visit.

Leave a Reply

