Pinxtos de País Vasco, the best kept secret of Spain

26 Jan
Bakalao

Bakalao

“Oh my gawd!” Before I could catch myself, the words escaped my mouth. I was in Spain afterall and should be expressing my delight in Spanish, right? But, here I was, in San Sebastian (Donostia in Basque), surprised and absolutely enthralled with the circus playing in my mouth. The tastes were exquisite and divine, the sights before me indescribable. A feast was set before me on the bar, all ready to tickle my taste buds and seduce me further into Spain’s culture, especially that of Basque country.

The Feast of Pinxtos

The Feast of Pinxtos

My companion and I

My companion and I

My companion laughed at my phrasing, as apparently many Basque and Spanish do when they hear an American say “Oh my god!” As a matter of fact, he made a video of my saying it, because I said it several more times that evening! And for the next few days, in his wonderful Spanish accent, he would mimic me, saying “Oh my gawd” and then break into laughter.

Pinxtos are NOT tapas that you find in other parts of Spain. They are generally not free with a paid drink. They cost anywhere from one to three euros and are worth every cent. They are absolute entertainment for the mouth – the variety of flavors and tastes that play on the taste buds. Many times I have no idea what I am eating. I simply look at the beauty set before me and choose one I haven’t eaten before and am delighted by the savory taste. Come to Basque country – you will not be disappointed by the Pinxtos.

Pinxtos del Cafe Aitziar en Casco Viejo, Bilbao

Pinxtos del Cafe Aitziar en Casco Viejo, Bilbao

Champiñones

Champiñones

Gambas Deliciosas

Gambas Deliciosas

Una Croqueta de jamon

Una Croqueta de jamon

Leave a Reply

